Empty

empty-chest

I’ll marinade my liver in Captain Morgan each night,

and drown the naive girl inside of me while I’m at it.

No soda- I chase nothing. The liquid comfort will burn

as it slides down my throat and resentment will churn

in my gut until I froth at the mouth, spit fire

at any who dare approach me. Dragon lady. Bitch.

Call me what you will, but find another lover’s heart to invade,

the quest to possess mine is fruitless. Even if you suffer

through Dante’s seven rings of inferno, you will find

nothing more than an empty chest for bounty.

©Katie Thompson, 2016

Leave a Reply

