The Person I Used to Be

I might as well have sent you a loaded gun,

with a note that read: Go ahead.

Look in the mirror and pull the trigger.

I know the thought has crossed your mind.

 

If only you could know me as I am now,

a woman humbled by bad decisions and worse men.

If we’d only said what needed to be said, nothing more,

I wonder what the outcome would be.

 

That poem I wrote to hurt you so many years ago

revealed more about the poet

-the person I used to be-

than it did about the boy who wronged her.

 

Time and distance have shattered the illusion

that the person I was, is all I’ll ever be.

Thank God, thank the universe, there’s hope for us both!

The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

 

 

 

©Katie Thompson, 2016

Leave a Reply

