An Oldie

Fire

blue_fire_eye_by_nithilien

I have an insatiable fire inside of me,

it burns blue and boils my blood,

hungers for fuel: answers, explanations.

The flames flicker up, licking the edges

of books, lectures, poems- engulfing them whole.

Then they smolder in a state of exhaustion.

The fire is omnipresent, never satiated,

just when I think it is being smothered, it rises

from the ash like an immortal Pheonix.

The fire is a gift and a burden,

which I am not sure I can shoulder.

Still, it burns me from the inside.

Until one day, I fear:

there will be nothing left

to burn.

 

 

©Katie Thompson, 2014

Leave a Reply

