Don’t Quit Your Day Dream

Dont Quit Your Day Dream

In the spirit of my blog name, I figured I would impart some knowledge of negligence and all things improper. If you’re wondering, I am in fact an expert in all things that should not be done, specifically those which are illegal- but I digress.

The first words of advice for the night are: don’t let things slide! I am the numero uno offender of this rule. Case in point: a few weeks back, I wrote a piece about a comedy showcase for the newspaper I work at. (I’m only a freelance writer and a part-time legals clerk). I sent my piece in after reworking it all day and received no response from the editor. I know I shouldn’t have, but I let it go. I went to work and didn’t bother going to the editor’s office to ask him about it right away. Long story short, my writing did not suck horribly and I am still getting paid despite the fact it was not published, because I spent time out of work attending the event, interviewing people, and writing.

All I had to do was ask, but I avoided it, because I was afraid. Not only that, but when I finally did mention the first piece, I was offered a second go-round and now have a half-page article that is being published in this week’s paper. It pays to be proactive- literally.

The second sage wisdom I will leave anyone reading this with is to not give up. As I shared in my last blog post, I was close to packing up my notebooks and bowing my head from the writing ring. Don’t quit your daydream. Even if you write some pretty awful stuff, stuff probably deserving of being burned, don’t stop working. A wise poet and professor once told me: “Sometimes you have to write four shitty poems to write one good one.” I have plenty of shitty poems and (if I can say so without sounding conceded) a few good poems that prove this statement to be true.

The final piece of advice I will gift any of you whom are still reading is this: don’t burn your shitty poems/songs/writing/art/etc. Not only do they provide for great entertainment later on, they also may come in useful. Maybe you have one decent image or line, one decent moment in an otherwise shit poem. It is okay to recycle from old to create new, it is okay to create something shitty, but however ill-formed, it is still something you have created. Even the idea of creating something horrible can be turned into art. Don’t believe me? Read Anne Bradstreet’s poem “The Author to Her Book,” an incredible poem about a not-so-incredible book she wrote.

Well, that’s all I have to leave you with today bloggers. Hope you gained at least one useful tip out of reading this and write-on! Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

